FR - NL - EN

A contemporary form of complementary centres of excellence

Christian Amand

Lawyer - VAT, Customs Duties and Excises Lawyer Xirius

Christian AMAND has a law degree from the Université Catholique de Louvain (1977), a degree in business law (1978) and holds a Master in tax law from the Ecole Supérieure des Sciences Fiscales (Brussels - ICHEC-1988). He has gained extensive experience in indirect taxation and in VAT issues in particular, first as a tax adviser with major audit firms and later as a lawyer specialised in VAT.

As a lawyer, he has been involved in the VAT aspects of the re-structuring of European and Belgian financial companies, in the reduction of the VAT charge on real estate projects and service centres, in rental and VAT matters for cross-border services organisations, in the compliance with European rules governing VAT deductions, in the financing and structuring of the VAT applicable to Belgian and international not-for-profit companies and professional organisations, in the introduction of electronic invoicing and archiving systems, in the prevention of VAT missing trader fraud, and in the study of legislative changes to excise duties. 

His preferred areas of practice are reducing VAT charges and the prevention and amicable resolution of VAT disputes. He also has extensive experience in the preparation of preliminary rulings in VAT cases before the Court of Justice of the European Union (cross-border rentals and permanent establishment for VAT, real estate rentals, exemptions, rates, the treatment of intermediaries, etc.). 

As a lawyer specialised in VAT matters, Christian chaired the VAT and indirect taxation subgroup of the Confédération fiscale Européenne (CFE) from 2008 to 2012 (http://www.cfe-eutax.org/) that represents tax advisers and lawyers specialised in taxation at the European Institutions. He is currently involved with the "EU VAT Forum" at the European Commission which is developing an on-going dialogue between national VAT authorities, business and VAT advisers to find practical solutions within the current framework of European VAT legislation.


His working languages are French, English, Dutch, and Spanish.

 

Review from Christian Amand

Studies published by Christian Amand

Latest News

Last news

23-11-18

Loopholes in the rules of place of supply of events and of immovable property services

ERA Academy of European Law Trier

21-11-18

Bâtiments anciens transformés: TVA 6%, pratiques abusives, decisions administratives et rulings

Forum for the Future

07-11-18

European VAT issues

The Malherbe Seminar - IFA Romania- Brasov

18-10-18

Une régie communale autonome peut-elle poursuivre un but lucratif au sens de l’article 44 du Code la TVA ?

Article paru dans la Revue de Fiscalité Régionale et Locale,2018/2

20-09-18

European VAT issues

IFA Romania- Brasov

FR - NL - EN

Une déclinaison contemporaine de centres de compétences complémentaires

Christian Amand

Avocat - T.V.A., droits de douane, accises Avocat Xirius

Christian AMAND est licencié en droit de l’Université Catholique de Louvain (1977), licencié en droit économique (1978) et titulaire d’une maîtrise en droit fiscal de l’Ecole Supérieure de Sciences Fiscales (Bruxelles - ICHEC-1988). Il a une longue expérience en  fiscalité indirecte et en TVA en particulier, d’abord comme conseil fiscal au sein de grands cabinets d’audit, et ensuite comme avocat spécialisé en TVA.

Il a participé, comme avocat, au volet TVA de la réorganisation d’entreprises financières au niveau européen et belge, à la réduction de la charge TVA sur les projets immobiliers et les centres de services, aux structures de services transfrontaliers en matière de location et de TVA, au respect des règles européennes en matière de déduction de la TVA, au financement et à la structuration de la TVA applicable aux ASBL’s et aux associations professionnelles belges et internationales, à l’introduction de systèmes de facturation et d’archivage électronique, à la prévention des fraudes carrousels TVA et à l’étude de changements législatifs en matière d’accises.

Ses domaines de préférence sont la réduction des charges TVA, ainsi que la prévention et la solution amiable des litiges TVA. Il a une grande expérience en matière de préparation de questions préjudicielles TVA devant la Cour de Justice de l’UE (location transfrontalière et établissement stable TVA, location immobilière, exonérations, taux, traitement des intermédiaires, …). 

En tant qu’avocat spécialisé en TVA, Christian a présidé de 2008 à 2012 le sous-groupe TVA et Fiscalité Indirecte de la Confédération fiscale Européenne (CFE http://www.cfe-eutax.org/) qui représente les conseils fiscaux et les avocats spécialisés en fiscalité auprès des Institutions Européennes. Il participe actuellement aux travaux du « EU VAT Forum » auprès de la Commission européenne qui instaure un dialogue permanent entre les administrations nationales de la TVA, les entreprises et les conseils externes en vue de dégager des solutions pratiques dans le cadre actuel de la réglementation TVA européenne.

Ses langues de travail sont le français, l’anglais, le néerlandais et l’espagnol.

 

 

Les Chroniques de Christian Amand

Etudes publiées par Christian Amand

Toutes les actualités

Dernières actualités

23-11-18

Loopholes in the rules of place of supply of events and of immovable property services

ERA Academy of European Law Trier

21-11-18

Bâtiments anciens transformés: TVA 6%, pratiques abusives, decisions administratives et rulings

Forum for the Future

07-11-18

European VAT issues

The Malherbe Seminar - IFA Romania- Brasov

18-10-18

Une régie communale autonome peut-elle poursuivre un but lucratif au sens de l’article 44 du Code la TVA ?

Article paru dans la Revue de Fiscalité Régionale et Locale,2018/2

20-09-18

European VAT issues

IFA Romania- Brasov